Who We Are
W6VIO Calling
QSL Cards
Amateur Radio Links

  Amateur Radio Club


 Home Page


The JPL Amateur Radio Club is open to employees and contractors working at all Jet Propulsion Laboratory facilities including the Deep Space Communications Complexes in Australia, Spain and Goldstone California.  It operates several   communications stations and repeaters in Southern California for the benefit of licensed radio amateurs and in support of emergency communications in the event of natural or other disasters.

The club was first formed in 1958 as the JPL Amateur Radio Society largely through the efforts of Dr. Henry L. Richter, W6VZA, with the intent of furthering interest in Amateur Radio at the Laboratory.  Notable early activities included handling radio traffic during the flight of Explorer I, the JPL constructed artificial satellite first orbited by the United States that year. 

A PDF copy of the club by-laws can be accessed here: Club By-Laws

JPL ARC Club Officers for 2017

Title Name Callsign
President Jonathan Cameron KF6RTA
Vice President Josh Miller KB3UUS
Secretary Matt W. Bennett KF6RTB
Treasurer Chuck Sarture KG6NF
Director at Large Steve Townes WB4ILW
Emergency Communications Manager Chris Gaylord W6YTB
W6VIO Trustee Rob Smith W6GRV
W6JPLTrustee Eric Archer N6CV
WR6JPLTrustee Jim Lux W6RMK
WR6AZN Trustee Bill Wood W6FXJ

Jet Propulsion Laboratory Amateur Radio Club
Post Office Box 842
La Canada, California 91012


Updated:February 5, 2017